Whether you have Celiac Disease or non-Celiac gluten sensitivity or are just trying to eliminate gluten from your diet, you have all of the basics down. You understand the sources of gluten and about cross-contamination. But did you know that gluten is hiding in these 21 places? Trust me, #6 will surprise you!
When I went gluten free, I became a master at reading labels. I quickly learned to stay away from malt, barley, rye, wheatberries, semolina, spelt, farro, and brewers yeast. But little did I know that gluten is hiding in plain sight. You will be surprised at some of these places. But think of it this way – gluten is pretty much a “glue,” so whenever an item needs to bind together, there is a possibility that gluten may be used.
ALWAYS check your labels! And please note that at the time of this article, all information is accurate, however, brands and products change all of the time. ALWAYS check your labels!
Here’s the list of common places where gluten is hiding:
1. Baking Soda – There are some baking soda products that contain gluten. My gluten-free stand-by is Clabber Girl.
2. Body Care Products – Body care products like shampoo and body wash and soaps are notorious for using gluten. I like Beautycounter products, not only are they gluten-free, but free of over 1,500 questionable or harmful chemicals.
3. Bouillon – Sometimes gluten is used to hold the cubes together.
4. Candy – Licorice is the most unassuming offender as it often contains gluten.
5. Deli Meats – Packaged meats and cheeses may contain gluten.
6. Envelopes and Stamps – While most envelopes and stamps are self-adhesive these days, be careful with the ones that are not. Gluten is often used on the adhesive. Be sure to use a sponge or roller instead of licking them.
7. Hot Chocolate – Always check for malt as one of the ingredients.
8. Imitation Crab – Know where your crab meat is from and always purchase the real thing.
9. Lip Balm – Another product similar to your makeup and body care.
10. Makeup – Just like body care products, many makeup brands add gluten to their products. Beautycounter is my go-to for makeup!
11. Oats – While oats are technically gluten-free, they are one of the easiest foods to be cross-contaminated.
12. Pet Food – It wasn’t until recently that gluten and grain free pet foods became mainstream. Only Natural Pets and Blue Buffalo are great gluten-free brands.
13. Play Dough – It’s all the talk of the playground. Play Dough contains gluten. Fortunately, there are a gazillion DIY’s on Pinterest.
14. Prescription Drugs and Supplements – Gluten is a common filler in both prescription drugs and drug store supplements. Be sure to ask your pharmacist and purchase high-quality supplements that are transparent in their ingredients.
15. Rice Cereals – Many rice cereals are gluten-free, but be sure to check for malt.
Imagine… becoming the BOSS of your chronic illness and changing your trajectory. Finally! Click below…
16. Sauces and Condiments – Gluten is a sneaky addition to many sauces and condiments.
17. Scrambled Eggs – At home, you don’t have much to worry about. But in restaurants, be sure to ask if they add pancake batter to your scrambled eggs.
18. Soy Sauce – Soy sauce often contains gluten.
19. Sushi Rice – Sushi rice commonly uses gluten to make it stickier and glue together.
20. Vinegar – There are various kinds of vinegar out there, many of which may contain gluten.
21. Worcestershire Sauce – Soy sauce is a common ingredient, which often contains gluten.
Are you Inspired?
Be sure to download your FREE Chronic Illness Blueprint to change your trajectory, increase energy, and maintain balance!
Love, hugs, and Sherlock Holmes is gluten-free!HERE.